List Of British Monarchy For All The History Lovers

list of british monarchy

There have been 12 monarchs of Great Britain and the United Kingdom. Further, a new kingdom of Great Britain was formed on May 1, 1707. For this, there was a merger of the Kingdom of England and the Kingdom of Scotland. After this, on January 1, 1801, Great Britain merged with the Kingdom of Ireland to form the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland. Here is a complete list of the British monarchy.

House Of Stuart (1707–1714)

A cat sitting on top of a building

Queen Anne was the Queen of England, Scotland, and Ireland in 1702. Thus, she even became the queen of Great Britain upon the union. She was married to George of Denmark. Further, she had 17 pregnancies, but no child of hers survived.

House Of Hanover (1714-1901)

A bridge over a body of water

Due to an Act of Settlement in 1701, the Hanoverian succession came into existence. After the death of Queen Anne, there were no living children of hers. Thus, George 1, the son of Sophia of Hanover, James VI of Scotland, and I of England, became the closet heir to the throne. However, he was not a roman catholic.

House Of Saxe-Coburg And Gotha (1901-1917)

Edward VII is the son and heir of Victoria, but he inherited his father’s name and became an heir to the throne. He inaugurated a new royal house. Victoria was a granddaughter of George III.

House Of Windsor (1917- To Present Date)

Now, during world war one, a new name was adopted, and that was the house of Windsor. The reason behind this change was the wartime anti-German sentiments in the United Kingdom.

George V, the son of Edward VII, succeeded the throne. He married Mary of Teck. Further, he had six children. His son Edward VIII was the next heir to the throne. He married Wallis Warfield. However, he had no child of his own.

Thus, George VI ruled the country. He had two children.

Now, George VI’s daughter Elizabeth II is ruling the country. She has four children. Further, the queen is highly known for taking special interests in government and political affairs. She is highly devoted to her ceremonial activities too.

The queen was married to Prince Philip of Greece, her third cousin and a lieutenant in the Royal navy. Her formal coronation as Queen Elizabeth II took place on June 2, 1953, in Westminster Abbey.

Her reign was remarkable, and she even televised her annual Christmas broadcast for the first time in 1957.

The queen’s popularity, and that of the entire royal family, rebounded during the first decade of the 21st century. Though 2002 marked Queen Elizabeth’s Golden Jubilee—50 years on the throne—her mother’s death (the beloved Queen Mum) and sister early that year cast a pall on the celebrations.


So these were some of the details about the British Monarch. There is much to know about these royal people. So keep reading this space for more articles on them. I hope you found this article helpful.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter